BIM Maturity Index (BIMMI)

A metric to measure BIM Maturity of organizations, Project Teams and whole markets. BIMMI has five distinct BIM Maturity Levels: (a) BIM Maturity Level a (Initial/Low/Ad-hoc), (b) BIM Maturity Level b (Defined/Medium-Low), (c) BIM Maturity Level c (Managed/Medium), (d) BIM Maturity Level d (Integrated/Medium-High) and (e) BIM Maturity Level e (Optimized/High)

Extended Description

BIM Maturity Levels at Capability Stage 1 - 2010

The BIM Maturity Index (BIMMI)

The BIMMI includes five BIM Maturity Levels. The progression from lower to higher levels of BIM Maturity indicates (i) better control through minimising variations between targets and actual results, (ii) better predictability and forecasting by lowering variability in competency, performance and costs and (iii) greater effectiveness in reaching defined goals and setting new more ambitious ones:


Level Name

Textual Rating

Numerical Rating

Level a

Ad-hoc or initial

Low maturity


Level b


Medium-Low maturity


Level c


Medium maturity


Level d


Medium-High maturity


Level e


High maturity


The above levels are explained in the BIM Maturity Index video on the BIM Framework's YouTube channel.

For more information about the relationship between BIM Maturity Levels and BIM Capability Stages, please refer to Episode 13 on the BIM ThinkSpace blog.

Author: Bilal Succar
Concepts: Measurement Ability Conceptual Construct
Back to search page

Info Channel

This page is provided as part of the BIMe Initiative. Dictionary terms and descriptions are provided under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Creative Commons License

Permissions beyond the scope of this license are available here.

To send a message to the Head Editor, please click here.

BIM Dictionary Editors can login to change this term using the button below:

Editors Login